File O9 - Overture 'To the spirit of comedy'. Op.25

Identity area

Reference code


Unique identifier

GB 275 Rootham/1/O9


Overture 'To the spirit of comedy'. Op.25


  • 1907 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

40 orchestral parts, score, paper

Context area

Archival history

Formerly in the Pendlebury Library of Music, University of Cambridge.

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Given by Margaret Faultless, March 2020.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Manuscript scores for the separate parts in black ink. Heading lined in red. Annotations in green, blue, red, and graphite pencil.

Parts included: Violino I (5 copies), Violino II (8 copies), Viola (3 copies), Violoncello (3 copies), Contrabasso (3 copies), Flauto I, Flauto II, Oboe I, Oboe II, Clarinetto I, Clarinetto II, Fagotto I, Fagotto II, Corno I, Corno II, Corno III, Corno IV, Tromba I, Tromba II, Trombone I, Trombone II, Trombone III, Tuba.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

The manuscript full score of this work is in Cambridge University Library, MS.Add.9100.

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places